BUTTE COUNTY RAILROAD AUTHORITY



511 6th Avenue Belle Fourche, SD 57717 Phone: (605)892-3006 Fax: (605)723-0897 www.bfdcsd.com

MINUTES Annual Meeting January 14, 2015 3:30 p.m. Butte County Courthouse Belle Fourche, South Dakota

.040 Roll Call & Meeting Call to Order - Chairperson Stan Harms called to Order at 3:30 p.m.

Commissioners present: Stan Harms, Jim Doolittle, Kim Kling, Gary Hendrickson, David Pummel

Others present: Elaine Jensen, Butte County Auditor; Hollie Stalder, Executive Director Belle

Fourche Development Corp; Ryan Kavan, City Engineer, Sharon Mins.

.041 Approve Minutes of the November 5, 2014 Meeting -

Motion Gary Hendrickson, Second Kim Kling to approve the minutes. Motion carried.

.042 Updates on Belle Fourche Industrial & Rail Park - Ryan Kavan, City Engineer, Hollie Stalder, Executive Director Belle Fourche Development Corp.

Ryan Kavan, Hollie Stalder, Jim Doolittle and Scott Peterson presented the proposed rail plan in Pierre. Ryan Kavan reviewed the plan and grants associated with the plan as well as updates on said grants. EDA grant in process, which is federal funds. DOT and GOED grant tabled until March 2015.

a) Resolution for EDA grant application – Butte County Rail Authority is a co-applicant with the City of Belle Fourche on the EDA grant application.

Motion Gary Hendrickson, second David Pummel Potential for chairman Stan Harms to sign the resolution on behalf of the Butte County Rail Authority. Motion carried.

- **b)** Review proposal from prospective transload facility operator Ryan Kavan reviewed the proposal with the commissioners.
- **c)** Letters of support and talking points for letters of support sought from area businesses who would utilize the facility is important as we move forward.

.043 Other Business - none

Page 2 of Butte County Railroad Authority January 14, 2015 Annual Meeting Minutes.

.044 Election of officers: (Current) Stan Harms – Chairperson

Gary Hendrickson - Vice Chair

David Pummel – Secretary – Treasurer

Motion Jim Doolittle, second Stan Harms to leave current officers in place for another term.

Motion carried.

.045 Next meeting date – to be determined as needed, otherwise, next meeting will be January 2016 annual meeting.

Motion Kim Kling, second Gary Hendrickson to enter executive session at 4:05 p.m. Motion carried. Chairman Stan Harms brought commissioners out of executive session. No action.

.046 Adjournment

Motion Jim Doolittle, second Gary Hendrickson to adjourn. Motion carried.